Posted by: ccclib | March 29, 2011

April Art in Common Grounds

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Artists’ statements:

Jayne Schmidt

Jayne Schmidt recently retired after a 39 year career in real estate, and in 2001 Jayne and her husband built a home on the Tennessee River at Bay Hill Village.  What a difference from living in the busy Huntsville/Madison area. The quiet life of waterfront living was a perfect retreat and source of inspiration for continuing her art. Her formal studies started at Kent State and Akron university many years ago, and since retiring four years ago Jayne has been enrolled in art classes at Athens State and Calhoun Community College in the Supervised Study Group.

People, animals, and horses are Jayne’s favorite subjects. She has owned and shown horses most of her life and knows them for the wonderfully majestic animals they are. Jayne’s commissioned works have given her the opportunity to create personalized pieces for her clients. If you’re interested in a commission art piece, please contact Jayne.

jayneschmidt@charter.net, 256-444-0222

Sallie Estes

Living in the South, the vibrant colors of Spring, the white hot summers, the changing leaves and bare branches of fall and winter are the inspiration for my watercolors.  As a child I was bedridden for a year which I spent reading and listening to the radio, using my imagination as I read and listened.  These two influences shape all of my art.

I often use wet on wet with lost and found images rather than a realistic rendering of the subject.  I find it stimulating to paint with a group of artists.  The supervised study group in the art department at Calhoun offers me an opportunity to paint with motivated artists who help me judge and critique my work.  This gave me an opportunity to enter a painting in the Statewide Chancellors Show where I won second place in Painting.

I see colors and shapes in all things of nature.  If I can translate even a part of this beauty onto my paper, then I feel successful.

Leave a Reply

Categories

